Eilat pictures

Welcome to Eilat

Travel to Eilat,

Transportation, Meals,
Banking, Internet


and Abstracts




About BGU

Poster of the Conference

Conference Dinner, Dolphin Reef


Maps of Eilat


Taxi, Medical help,


Useful Information

Full Program


Page last updated 05.05.2013


Interactions between Logic, Topological structures and Banach spaces theory

May 19-24, 2013

Eilat Campus of Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

Center for Advanced Studies in Mathematics

Department of Mathematics



The international conference "Interactions between Logic, Topological structures and Banach spaces theory"

will take place at the Eilat Campus of Ben Gurion University of the Negev (Israel)  from 19-24 May, 2013.

Eilat is Israel's southernmost city, a popular resort located at the northern tip of the

Red Sea, on the Gulf of Eilat. Basic information about the city of Eilat can be found at


The main purpose of the conference is to bring together mathematicians

working in all fields of mathematics dealing with Automorphism Groups of

Topological Structures, Boolean Algebras, and Banach spaces theory in order

to exchange ideas and present results of current research.

Specific topics to be covered in this meeting are:

1) Applications of Logic, in particular Boolean Algebras, to Banach spaces theory.

2) Recovery of spaces from their groups of homeomorphisms.

3) Topological characterization of the homeomorphism groups of various concrete spaces.

4) Universal homogeneous metric spaces.

5) Geometry of Banach spaces.

The total estimated number of participants is 60.

Depending on the number of participants we may have some lectures in parallel.


There is no Conference registration fee.


The Organizing Committee will book the rooms for all participants in the Hotel Adi

and will offer special prices in this hotel.

Eilat has plenty of hotels and in principal the participants could book a hotel of their choice on their own.

Travel to Eilat: “Arkia” and “Israir” are the airlines operating flights from Tel Aviv to Eilat.

ISRAIR web site is http://www.israirairlines.com/

ARKIA web site is http://www.arkia.com/

We recommend Arkia Express service which offers low-fare flights for in advance reservations.

Both air-companies operate flights from Ben-Gurion international airport.

The following site of Eilat Hotel Association contains a lot of useful information.


We are planning to have Conference Dinner and an excursion

for the conference participants and accompanying persons.

Possible financial support depends on the total funds that we shall be able to obtain.


We expect the participation of the following mathematicians that

have already confirmed attending the conference.


List of confirmed invited speakers:


Antonio Aviles (University of Murcia, Spain)

Joan Bagaria (University of Barcelona, Spain)

Taras Banakh (Lviv University, Ukraine and University in Kielce, Poland)

Carlo Alberto De Bernardi (University of Milano, Italy)

Andreas Blass (University of Michigan, USA)

Robert Bonnet (University of Savoie, France)

Joseph Borzellino (California Polytechnic State University, USA)

Montserrat Bruguera (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain)

Maria Jesus Chasco (University of Navarra, Spain)

Artem Chernikov (Hebrew University, Israel)

Tadeusz Dobrowolski (Pittsburg State University, USA)

Mirna Dzamonja (University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK)

Stefan Geschke (Hausdorff Center for Mathematics, Bonn, Germany)

Eli Glasner (Tel Aviv University, Israel)

Sergei Gul'ko (Tomsk University, Russia)

Alexander Ivanov (Wrocław University, Poland)

William Johnson (Texas A&M University, USA)

Istvan Juhasz (Institute of Mathematics, Budapest, Hungary)

Haim Horowitz (Hebrew University, Israel)

Alexandre Karassev (Nipissing University, North Bay, Canada)

Alexander A. Katz (St. John's University, USA)

Sabine Koppelberg (Free University of Berlin, Germany)

Piotr Koszmider (Institute of Mathematics, Warsaw, Poland)

Wieslaw Kubis (University in Kielce, Poland and Institute of Mathematics, Prague, Czech Republic)

Noa Lavi (Hebrew University, Israel)

Elisabetta Maluta (Politecnico of Milano, Italy)

Witold Marciszewski (Institute of Mathematics, Warsaw, Poland)

Michael Megrelishvili (Bar-Ilan University, Israel)

Donald Monk (University of Colorado at Boulder, USA)

Alexander Osipov (IMM, Ekaterinburg, Russia)

Antonio Pallares (University of Murcia, Spain)

Vladimir Pestov (University of Ottawa, Canada)

Luie Polev (Bar-Ilan University, Israel)

Tomasz Rybicki (AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland)

Norbert Sauer (University of Calgary, Canada)

Denis Saveliev (Moscow University, Russia)

Doron Shafrir (Hebrew University, Israel)

Slawomir Solecki (University of Illinois at Chicago, USA)

Saharon Shelah (Hebrew University, Israel)

Menachem Shlossberg (Bar-Ilan University, Israel)

Richard Smith (University College Dublin, Ireland)

Juris Steprans (York University, Canada)

Vera Tonic (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)

Stanimir Troyanski (University of Murcia, Spain)

Boaz Tsaban (Bar-Ilan University, Israel)

Alex Usvyatsov (Open University, Israel)

Vesko Valov (Nipissing University, North Bay, Canada)

Libor Vesely (University of Milano, Italy)

Martin Weese (Potsdam University, Germany)

Benjamin Weiss (Hebrew University, Israel)

Przemyslaw Wojtaszczyk (Warsaw University, Poland)

Yosef Yomdin (the Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)

Clemente Zanco (University of Milano, Italy)


Uri Abraham (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)

Saak Gabriyelyan (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)

Vladimir Fonf (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)

Assaf Hasson (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)

Menachem Kojman (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)

Arkady Leiderman (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)

Michael Levin (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)

Yona Maissel (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)

Nadav Meir (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)

Omer Mermelstein (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)

Matatyahu Rubin (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)


There could well be changes to this list. 


Scientific Committee:

Bohuslav Balcar (Czech Republic), William B. Johnson (USA), Menachem Magidor (Israel), Jan van Mill (the Netherlands),

Donald Monk (USA), Vladimir Pestov (Canada), Yosef Yomdin (Israel).


Organizing Committee:

The Chair: Vladimir Fonf (Ben-Gurion University) fonf@math.bgu.ac.il

Members: Arkady Leiderman (Ben-Gurion University) arkady@math.bgu.ac.il

Matatyahu Rubin (Ben-Gurion University) matti@math.bgu.ac.il

Yona Maissel (Ben-Gurion University) maissel@math.bgu.ac.il

*Workshop - May 19-24, 2013

Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: http://mathnt.mat.jhu.edu/JAMI9900/_themes/downtown/werhsepa.gif

*The workshop is sponsored by the Israel Science Foundation and
Center for Advanced Studies in Mathematics,

Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Beer Sheva, Israel

Additional support by BGU's President, Rector and  Dean of the Faculty of Natural Sciences

For additional information, please send e-mail to arkady@math.bgu.ac.il

Page last updated 05.05.2013