In modern mathematics each mathematician begins his career as a graduate student of a PhD thesis advisor. Thus one can draw mathematical "family trees".

Below is my own lineage, found using the Mathematics Genealogy Project. It is supplemented by links to biographies from the MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive.

Of course, in older times the advisor/advisee relationship was not so formal as it is nowadays. Thus, some of the earlier links shown here reflect a mentor/student circumstance that is somewhat different than the more recent links.

Click here to investigate your own mathematical roots.

Jacob Bernoulli

Johann Bernoulli
Leonhard Euler
PhD: Universitaet Basel 1726
Joseph Louis Lagrange
Johann F. Pfaff
PhD: Georg-August-Universitaet Goettingen 1786
Simeon Denis Poisson
Ecole Polytechnique
J.B. Joseph Fourier
Ecole Normale
Carl Friedrich Gauss
PhD: Universitaet Helmstedt 1799
J.P.G. Lejeune Dirichlet
PhD: Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universitaet Bonn 1827
Christian Gerling
PhD: Georg-August-Universitaet Goettingen 1812
Rudolf O.S. Lipschitz
PhD: Universitaet Berlin 1853
Julius Pluecker
PhD: Universitaet Marburg 1823
Felix C. Klein
PhD: Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universitaet Bonn 1868
Carl L. Ferdinand von Lindemann
PhD: Friedrich-Alexander-Universitaet Erlangen-Nuernberg 1873
David Hilbert
PhD: Universitaet Koenigsberg 1885
Erhard Schmidt
PhD: Universitaet Goettingen 1905
Salomon Bochner
PhD: Universitaet Berlin 1921
Hillel Furstenberg
PhD: Princeton University 1958
Moshe Jarden
PhD: The Hebrew University of Jerusalem 1970
PhD: Tel Aviv University 1990

Back to Ido Efrat's home page

Back to home page